h1

The changing lifestyle

April 14, 2010

When you have been studying in the UK for a while, your lifestyle will be influenced somehow. Here are some comment changes generated from a group of UK Chinese students.

Before studied in the UK When study in the UK During holiday in China
slept at 11p.m chat with friends online or write essays until 2a.m I sleep less in order to spend more time together with family and friends
I liked eating KFC, McDonald, beefsteak and everything from abroad eat potatoes,cold dishes, sandwiches, and pastas only like the home-cooked dishes
tried the most popular western hairstyle do not have hair cut so often, or cut the hair by myself sometimes no matter which kind of hairstyles,it is never expensive than a crew cut in the UK
was a proud owner of an HP computer use three-inch SONY, which is small and handy bring an Apple Mac back
used Renren.com (Chinese social networking site) use Facebook Facebook is blocked
always disagreed and quarreled with parents, and complained everything only tell good news to parents to release their worrieshave not celebrated Chinese New Year with family for many years it is a pleasure to celebrate festivals together with parents
liked drinking Fanta, Coke, and Sprite bought Green tea from Chinatown like all kinds of Chinese tea
said“Hello”, “Thank you”, and“Bye-bye” to foreign friends used to say “How are you doing”, “Cheers” and “See ya” all the time speak in Chinese mixed with English

Have you been changed as well? Share you experience with us!

5 comments

  1. Before studied abroad, I did not smoke and drink alcohol .
    When study abroad, I have started smoking and drinking.
    After returning to China, I only can secretely smoke and drink occationally.

    Before studied abroad, I always tried to be critical for Chinese Government.
    When study abroad, I automatically love and defend my country’s reputation.
    After returning to China, I am kind of despise people who know a little thing but hate their country.


  2. this is what we called oversea study and life. taste something different from living in china


  3. This is so true! I can almost say its about the same for me LOL


  4. When I was in China, I did all those unhealthy stuff in Column Two.
    Now I am in the UK, I do all those unhealthy stuff in Column Two as well.

    The only difference being I don’t have my Mom nagging around all the time about sleep early and healthy diet here.

    Oh, how i miss my Mom…


  5. Hello! Nice to meet you.
    I know a little about the lifestyle in Uk, but my English teacher ,who is also a student abroad , told us the expenditure of the haircut and the resinous glasses are much more expensive. Furthermore, she said if you will study in UK , you must learn how to cook food by yourself…….
    Can you share me some interesting things you have ? Because I have been planning to study aboard, but for some reasons, I can’t do that. One of my buddies ,who is studying in Australia now, told me that the life is borning. But personally, I like studying or living in the foreign countries.
    PS: My English is poor,especially the grammar. So if you find some mistakes I made ,please let me know, I’m very appreciate it.



Leave a comment